General Bipin Rawat, Vaccine Makers Named For Padma Awards

Padma Awards 2022:

General Bipin Rawat will be honoured with the Padma Vibhushan – India’s second-highest civilian honour.

General Bipin Rawat, India’s first Chief of Defense Staff who was killed last year in a helicopter crash, vaccine makers Krishna Ella, Suchitra Ella, Cyrus Poonawalla, opposition politicians Ghulam Nabi Azad, Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee, and Indian-origin Silicon Valley titans Satya Nadella and Sundar Pichai was named for the country’s top civilian awards on Tuesday, the eve of the 73rd Republic Day.
General Rawat has been honored with India’s second-highest civilian award, the Padma Vibhushan, along with Kalyan Singh, who was Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister when the Babri Masjid was demolished. He too died last year.

Also Read : This Car Company Can Launch Most Affordable Electric Cars

Former Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Ghulam Nabi Azad of the Congress and former West Bengal Chief Minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) were given the third-highest honor – the Padma Bhushan.

However, Mr Bhattacharjee, a lifelong Marxist and a staunch critic of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, rejected the award in an extremely rare instance seen as a major embarrassment for the government.

Krishna Ella and Suchitra Ella of Bharat Biotech and Cyrus Poonawala of the Serum Institute of India will also get the Padma Bhushan for their role in India’s response to COVID-19 with the Covaxin and Covishield vaccines.

Microsoft CEO Satya Nadella and Google’s Sundar Pichai were also named for the Padma Bhushan, as was chairperson of Tata Group Natarajan Chandrasekaran.

US-based culinary expert Madhur Jaffrey, Paralympic javelin thrower Devendra Jhajharia, religious teacher from Gujarat Swami Sachidanand were among other Padma Bhushan awardees.

Also Read : What are Hybrid Funds in 2022

Singer Sonu Nigam and Olympic gold medalist Neeraj Chopra have been awarded the Padma Shri – the fourth highest honor – along with Jamia Millia Islamia University Vice-Chancellor Najma Akhtar.

There are 130 names on the list of Padma Awardees this year, including two shared ones.

The list has 4 Padma Vibhushan, 17 Padma Bhushan and 107 Padma Shri awards. Thirty-four of the awardees are women.

No names were announced for the Bharat Ratna, the highest civilian award, which was last awarded in 2019 to former President Pranab Mukherjee, social reformer singer Nanaji Deshmukh and noted Bhupen Hazarika.

So friends, in this article, we have told you about General Bipin Rawat, Vaccine Makers Named For Padma Awards, which you must have liked if you have any question related to this post. If you have a suggestion, you can tell us by writing it in the comment box below.

Also Read : Only One Handbag Allowed For Every Air Passenger In India: Find Out Why?